Indian Residential Schools identified by the AANDC

By our reckoning, Canada identified 146 Indian Residential Schools at some point between 2007-2018:

  • 131 Indian Residential Schools under the original IRSSA
  • 6 institutions that Canada agreed to recognize as Indian Residential Schools under Article 12
  • 4 institutions that courts ordered Canada to recognize as Indian Residential Schools under Article 12
  • 5 institutions that Canada included in one or more of its periodic maps and lists of Recognized Institutions:
    1. Red Deer, Alberta
    2. Sarcee, Alberta
    3. St. Barnabas, Saskatchewan
    4. Norway House, Manitoba
    5. Wikwemikong, Ontario

We are publishing these 146 Indian Residential Schools, as they appeared in the original IRSSA and in Canada’s periodic updates of Recognized Institutions, as a machine-readable, Tab-Separated-Value file, with these data fields:


Field Definition
PREFERRED_NAME Preferred name
IRSSA_200709 Listed in original IRSSA in September 2007 (0 = No, 1 = Yes)
AANDC_200905 Recognized by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) in May 2009  (0 = No, 1 = Yes)
AANDC_201205 Recognized by AANDC in May 2012  (0 = No, 1 = Yes)
AANDC_201209 Recognized by AANDC in September 2012  (0 = No, 1 = Yes)